WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.

Legal Information: South Carolina

State Gun Laws

Updated: 
March 26, 2018

What is the penalty for violating state firearm laws?

Under South Carolina state law, anyone who has or buys a handgun in violation of the state's laws that prohibit certain people from having handguns can be guilty of a felony. The punishment can be imprisonment of up to 5 years, a fine of up to $2,000, or both.*

The possible penalties for having a firearm or ammunition in violation of the state's laws that prohibit certain people from having a firearm or ammunition are as follows:

* S.C. Code § 16-23-50(A)(1)
** S.C. Code § 116-25-30(B)