WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender.
Legal Information: Wyoming
Updated: November 17, 2020
What can I do if the abuser violates the order?
You can call the police immediately, even if you think it is a minor violation. The “willful violation” of a temporary or final order of protection can be a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $750.00, or both.1
The abuser can also be held in contempt of court for violating the court order and punished by the judge. To file for contempt, you would file a motion and affidavit for an order to show cause in the court that issued the order of protection.
1 Wyoming Code §§ 35-21-106(c); 6-4-404
© 2008–2020 WomensLaw.org is a project of the National Network to End Domestic Violence, Inc. All rights reserved. This website is funded in part through a grant from the Office for Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. Neither the U.S. Department of Justice nor any of its components operate, control, are responsible for, or necessarily endorse, this website (including, without limitation, its content, technical infrastructure, and policies, and any services or tools provided). NNEDV is a 501©(3) non-profit organization; EIN 52-1973408.