What is the penalty for violating the order of protection?
The “willful violation” of a temporary or final order of protection can be a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in jail, a fine of up to $750.00, or both.1 However, if an abuser is charged with violating the order and proves that you “requested” that the abuser violate the order, this can be a defense to being found guilty.1 For example, if you call the abuser or ask him/her to come over, s/he may not be found guilty of violating the “no contact” or “stay away” provisions.
The abuser can also be held in contempt of court for violating the court order and punished by the judge. To file for contempt, you would file a motion and affidavit for an order to show cause in the court that issued the order of protection.
1 Wyoming Statutes § 7-3-510(c)
2 Wyoming Statutes § 7-3-509(c)